Performance of Murshid Hidayat’s Music in Novosibirsk, Russia

In a recent email Murshid Hidayat passed on interesting news of the performance of his music in Novosibirsk, Russia. I include some of his comments here:

“…my composition called La Monotonia was played in an arrangement for a large String Orchestra composed of an ensemble of Cellos, which must have been an extraordinary musical experience.
It was performed in the large hall of the State Conservatoire of Novosibirsk in memory of my Sister Noorunissa, on the celebration day (08 May) of the official Russian Liberation Day. It had a tremendous success.
A second performance of several of my compositions shall be given on the 11th of June, in a Concert at the large Philharmonic Hall of Novosibirsk. They wanted us to be there, but we just cannot think of making such a tiring and risky trip to the other end of the world, at our ages.
The Russians seem to really appreciate my music, and I feel so deeply grateful , specially since I recently read in the Biography, that at the occasion of a meeting of my Father in Moscow with the Great Russian Composer Scriabine, Scriabine and my Father jointly agreed that it would be wonderful if some day European Music and Indian Music could find a possible combination structure.
This happens to be the case with my music, where the western harmonic structure is combined with Indian Ragas. This is the secret, why Russians are so appreciative of my music, which reminds them of their own, in some way. (see Glazunov and Korsakow) Scriabine did use a melody of my Father in one of his piano compositions, just as Debussy also did.”
Hidayat and Aziza are now in Munich.

One response to “Performance of Murshid Hidayat’s Music in Novosibirsk, Russia

  1. Thank you for sharing this precious correspondence. I wonder if Debussy and Scriabin scholars are aware of the Inayat Khan influence.

Leave a comment